Hans Erik Deckert – Intrada for Cello Sextet

Deckert original Intrada for cello sextet

Ovation Press delivers expertly edited scores of great compositions from great composers by great editors. Sometimes, the composer and editor are one in the same. For this latest cello ensemble release, we are featuring Hans Erik Deckert's original composition Intrada.

About Deckert's Intrada for Cello Sextet

Originally a hymn for six-part a cappella choir, this gem showcases Deckert's musical development at a young age. The Intrada was composed in 1942 when he was only 15 years old. The voice parts have not been altered in the cello transcription, and the original key has been retained.

Download the Score!

About the Editor – Hans Erik Deckert

Hans Erik Deckert was born and grew up in Germany. The son of German and Danish parents, he moved to Denmark shortly after the war in order to study cello and conducting in Copenhagen. Deckert has had a passionate and prolific career in these fields, as well as in chamber music. His roots in the German musical tradition have given him a depth of musicianship much in demand at solo and chamber masterclasses and seminars, which is mixed with a concern for the wider social responsibility of music, stemming from his Scandinavian environment.

For Ovation Press, Deckert has employed this musicianship in a wide number of arrangements of varying styles: including Bach's Four Canons from The Art of Fugue, Rachmaninoff's Vocalise, Saint-Saëns' The Swan, and much more.

Presently Hans Erik Deckert is Honorary President of the Danish section of ESTA (which he also founded in 1978) and resident conductor with the Cello Academy (which embraces a professional 12-part cello ensemble as well as regular training courses for students). He also holds a visiting post at the Freie Musikschule in Hamburg.

Learn more about Hans Erik Deckert and his arrangements at Ovation Press.